Day 39 Last Day in Santiago.

We all walk the long road. Cannot stay…
There’s no need to say goodbye…
All the friends and family
All the memories going round, round, round, round

– Eddie Vedder – The Long Road Lyrics

Today is the day…. it’s all over.

Just a few last minutes details to take care of, then this chapter is finished, the book is done.

I woke up to a dreary overcast day, the rains would soon come.  I would be the first one to leave our little Camino family.  Kathryn and Annie would be here another 4 days and Peter and Charlotte another 6 days.

They had all made plans to visit Finisterre by bus, which is another 87km out of Santiago to the western coast of Spain.  In roman times, it was thought to be the end of the world.  Now, modern pilgrims make the trek either walking or by bus to the ”world’s edge” and burn an article of clothing or the footwear they wore on the Camino as a sign of final completion.

I packed my backpack one final time, and went to breakfast with my darlings Peter and Charlotte.

We headed back to the Cathedral as there was one final mass we wanted to attend, an English mass in the small chapel of Our Lady of Sorrows.  The chapel looked like it could seat about 60 people, and we were about 75.  A very intimate and beautiful mass officiated by the wonderful Irish priest.

Camino 2015 325

The chapel of Our Lady of Sorrows in the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

We finished our shopping and had lunch and returned to the hotel Lux to collect my things.  Kathryn and Annie met us and the five of us had one last beautiful moment together in the hotel lounge.  I boarded the bus that would take me to the airport at 4pm and would fly out to Madrid and start my long journey home.

And so with tears running down my cheeks I left my Camino Ma & Da and my soul sistah.  But we will meet again…

We’ll meet again
Don’t know where
Don’t know when
But I know we’ll meet again some sunny day

– Vera Lynn – We’ll Meet Again Lyrics

And so ended the most amazing journey of my life….so far!

About soniaofottawa

Married to a wonderful, funny, amazing man since 1984 and mother of 2 amazing twin daughters and 2 wonderful sons. Left the corporate banking world in 1990 to concentrate on futures...my children's. Spent the next 20+ years raising my children, or rather dragging them up kicking and screaming into adulthood, or a semblance thereof. Also have been working from home in our accounting business for over a decade now. The last 2 decades of my life have been spent revolving around the sun and moon that are my husband and my children, and now as I begin my ''mature'' years, I plan on taking my inner child on all kinds of adventures.
This entry was posted in Camino Frances 2015 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 39 Last Day in Santiago.

  1. Lifesastitch says:

    Seriously…tears here. Thank you for your account. We were at the Cathedral Friday, Oct 16, probably the week after you and sat in the same section.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lifesastitch says:

    Gracias y Buen Camino.

    Like

  3. Edina says:

    Congratulations…… wonderful……I was in 2013. my site : http://www.edithajdu.hu/?p=2301

    Like

  4. Crystal Fox says:

    I spent my entire evening reading every word of your blog & I don’t know if you ever look for more comments now that it’s been 3 years, BUT, I just want/need to say how grateful I am to have found it when I did! I will begin my Camino on Sept. 12, 2018 & giving myself 46 days (combining several Caminos: Frances/Salvador/Primitivo/Finesterre-Muxia)! I have been planning it since Feb./March (I think) but it’s been in my ‘hearts’ mind’ for over 20 years! Lately I’m becoming anxious…..not about GOING but OVER THINKING EVERYTHING which (I’m thinking..) will inevitably make me forget something!!! LOL! So I have identified with your humor, your daughters’ desire to making it to the ‘free wine’ village LOL, your doubts, your desire to sleep comfortably (I’m not using a company but DID book my 1st 2 nights in advance (same hotel as you & your daughter in SJPDP/Hotel des Pyrenees!) & I DO plan to stay in as many hotels or Private places as possible & for all the same reasons! I am 54 years old & will be going alone, nut I know I won’t end my Camino alone! Your blog was also a Godsend with regards to the varying weather conditions (I can be confident in my gear now!) as well as the info regarding the Botafumeiro service because I want to witness this as well as visit the resting place of St. James!

    I was teary just reading about your entrance in to Santiago & could completely relate to how ‘full’ you must have been emotionally & Spiritually! I KNOW I’ll need to go somewhere & (in my Oprah voice…….) ‘do the ‘ugly’ cry’ ……..of Thanksgiving/Gratitude, which is my major reason for walking the Camino!

    I thank you again for sharing such a wonderful, intimate part of your life journey & I hope it continues to bless the rest of your days! Been Camino/Ultreia!!!!!!

    Like

    • Thanks Crystal. I can’t believe people are still reading my silly little blog. I’m sure you will meet the most amazing people and find your Camino family as I did. We’ve all pretty much have kept in touch and I’ve had the joy of reuniting with my lovely Irish Kiwis Peter and Charlotte last year in New Zealand and with John and Leigh in Australia as well. I’ve spent hours on the phone with Annie my “soul sistah” from Arizona as well. Trust me when I say you will have the most amazing journey. Buen Camino y Ultreia! And thanks again for your beautiful comment.

      Like

  5. Crystal Fox says:

    I tried to type BUEN Camino/Ultreia (but i think i was auto-corrected! LOL)

    Like

Leave a comment